Portland’s Shamrock Run 2014

me and kathy IMG_2725

What’s better than spending a Sunday morning on the waterfront? With minimal rain, I can’t think of anywhere I would rather be on a brisk March day. Today, I participated in the Portland Shamrock Run, which is the largest running and walking event in Oregon and the second-largest on the US West Coast.

With over 35,000 participants, the many perks of the event include live music, a free pour from Widmer Brothers Brewing and complimentary smoked salmon chowder from Stanford’s in the nearby beer garden. I opted for the pale ale, which was surprisingly refreshing for a 10 a.m. snack after running 3.1 miles.

Following the somewhat flat run through downtown Portland, my sister and friends were there to watch me run through the finish line and enjoy the beautiful view of Portland’s Waterfront Park. We sipped, snacked and laughed before hopping on the bus to head home. Let’s just say I’m feeling accomplished and am already making plans to compete in the 15k next year!

IMG_1252 IMG_4267

Leave a Reply

