Roasted Corn Cheese Dip

20130419_163835 20130419_164138

I can’t think of a better Friday afternoon snack than this delicious corn dip paired with toasted bread and crispy tortilla chips. So warm, creamy and fresh that although I was barely even hungry, I couldn’t stop shoveling bite after bite into my mouth. It was a great mid afternoon snack because of the simple preparation and includes common ingredients that most chefs may already have at home.

I stumbled upon this recipe about a week ago when I was working on writing a market analysis of Eating Well for my magazine writing class. The whole issue explored summer food, particularly corn in the month of August. The picture of creamy cheese and corn caught my eye because it looked so satisfying, yet healthy. However, because it is only April, I used frozen corn, which was equally as yummy. The three issues that I read for my assignment paired with the result of this dip may have been enough to convince me to be a regular Eating Well reader. Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups corn kernels
  • 8 ounces shredded sharp Cheddar cheese (2 cups)
  • 8 ounces reduced-fat cream cheese, cut into small pieces

PREPARATION

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. Coat a medium (10-inch) cast-iron skillet with cooking spray; heat over medium-high heat. Add corn; cook, stirring occasionally, until mostly golden brown, 5 to 7 minutes. (Corn kernels may “pop” as they brown.) Remove from heat; stir in Cheddar and cream cheese. Transfer to the oven.
  3. Bake until golden and bubbling, 18 to 20 minutes. Serve with toasted bread or tortilla chips.
Leave a Reply

