Crock Pot Cilantro Lime Chicken

20130129_120816As a busy college student, the crock pot is truly one of my favorite inventions. There is literally nothing better than throwing five ingredients into one pot and six hours later devouring a warm, deliciously tender meal. That is why for dinner this week, I decided to try this easy and healthy chicken recipe from Pip & Ebby.

Chicken, tortillas, sour cream and salsa are some of my favorite foods, so I was especially excited for this one. When I got back from classes around noon, I put salsa verde, taco seasoning, lime juice and cilantro in the bottom of the crock pot, stirred it up and added eight chicken tenderloins. Four hours later, I added a can of corn and a can of black beans to the mix. By 6 p.m., all I had to do was shred the chicken and return it to the pot, melt some sharp cheddar cheese on small flour tortillas and set the sour cream on the table.

Although very tasty as mini burritos, I found that 24 ounces of salsa was a lot and that it was really more of a soup-like consistency. As I was putting the leftovers in a plastic container, my roommate and I decided that with a little melted cheese on top, this recipe could also be eaten as soup the next day.

Not only do I love this recipe in burritos and as soup, but I also envision it being delicious on nachos. By spreading tortilla chips out on a baking pan, topping with the shredded chicken, beans, olives and cheese and popping it under the broiler, you could have another tasty meal. Who am I kidding though, this versatile cilantro lime chicken is also delicious straight out of the crock pot as a snack.

Here is the full recipe:20130129_120808

One 24-ounce jar medium or mild salsa

Juice from one lime

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

One 1.25-oz. package taco seasoning

2 jalapeno peppers, finely chopped (optional)

8 Chicken tenderloins

Coat the chicken with the salsa mixture. Cover and cook on Low for 6 hours. Enjoy!

Looking for more fun crock pot ideas? Try this delicious apple butter recipe! So yummy on toast, in yogurt or with a slice of cheese on a good old fashioned Ritz cracker.

Leave a Reply

